Alumna Named ACE Fellow

Cobber Connections: Biochemistry professor receives an honor from a higher education organization.

Dr. Ann (Schroeder) Taylor ’93 is one of 39 emerging leaders named by the American Council on Education as an ACE Fellow for the 2019-20 academic year.

Taylor is the William J. and Wilma M. Haines Associate Professor of Biochemistry and chair of the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics for Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Ind. 

“I'm thrilled to be selected as an ACE Fellow,” said Taylor. “Participating will provide me with perspective on the range of leadership opportunities in higher education and the opportunity to see how other institutions foster leadership development among both faculty and students. I am particularly interested in the transition from receiving tenure into a faculty member’s first significant leadership role, and models of developing student leadership through course-based activities.” 

Taylor was Wabash College’s first biochemist. She created courses and curriculum for the biochemistry major and serves as chair of the chemistry department. She’s served on several committees, presented workshops on teaching college science to grad students and serves on the editorial review board for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education. She is also active in research and regularly publishes case studies for use in the classroom related to her interest in how students learn.

The ACE Fellows Program, established in 1965, works to strengthen institutions and leadership in American higher education to ensure its future leaders are ready to take on the challenges of their institutions. The program packs into a single year training and experience that usually takes years to acquire. Nearly 2,000 higher education leaders have participated in the program over the last 50 plus years. 

ACE is the major coordinating body mobilizing the nation’s colleges and universities in shaping public policy and fostering innovative, high-quality practice. Its more than 1,700 member institutions include all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions – two-year and four-year, public and private.