D.C. Joyner Spirit Award Winners

The Joyner Spirit Award is given to one enthusiastic participant each semester who embodies the spirit of Joyner, the first- and longest-serving dean and executive director of the Lutheran College Washington Semester (LCWS) program.

Emma Eckberg ’18 received the Spirit Award in fall 2017 and Reyna Bergstrom ’18 in spring 2018. Nominated by faculty, staff and peers, this award represents the positivity and enthusiasm spread by both Eckberg and Bergstrom during their time with LCWS.

Eckberg double majored in German and political science at Concordia and interned with the Office of Public Affairs for the International Trade Administration in Washington. Bergstrom double majored in communication and religion and interned in the office of North Dakota Sen. John Hoeven in Washington.

Both earned accolades from Dr. Douglas E. Clark, the dean and executive director of LCWS.

“Emma was a standout student during the fall 2017 semester. She was always willing to break the ice, be a volunteer, and generally encourage participation from her peers,” Clark said. “Reyna was one of the most committed students in LCWS this semester and clearly embodied the spirit of the award.”

Bergstrom was humbled and honored to be recognized for such an award by her professors, mentors and fellow classmates during her time in the Capitol.  

“It was a huge affirmation and honor to be voted by my peers for this award,” Bergstrom said. “We had an amazing group of individuals who participated in the LCWS program this past spring semester and I was so happy to be able to experience life in Washington, D.C., with all of them.”