News Alumni

Cobber Alumna Named One of YWCA’s 2022 Women of the Year

Photo credit: Britta the Photographer

Jean (Aarthun) Zimmerman, a 1977 Concordia graduate, was honored with the YWCA Cass Clay Lifetime Achievement award during its 2022 Women of the Year ceremony. Zimmerman is executive director of the Offutt Family Foundation, Fargo, N.D.

The YWCA’s 49th annual Women of the Year event was held April 25 and honored 27 inspiring women. Gifts made in honor of the women were matched by Dakota Medical Foundation in support of women and children seeking safety at the YWCA Emergency Shelter. 

                                           Photo credit: Britta the Photographer

Other Cobber nominees included Dr. Julie (Bjerke) Blehm ’74, YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties Board of Directors, and Sarah (Peterson) Deutsch ’02, Center for Special Surgery. Blehm also currently serves on Concordia’s Board of Regents.

Full list of winners:

  • Bethany Berkeley – Dale Carnegie Training of North Dakota and NW Minnesota
  • Zoe Bundy – Davies High School Student
  • Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald – North Dakota State University
  • Desi Fleming – Fargo Cass Public Health
  • Abby Haugen – Sanford Health
  • Angela Hedstrom – Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority
  • Judy Lewis – Fargo Moorhead Community Theatre
  • Amanda McKinnon – Mint Brand Marketing
  • Karen Moore – Fargo Public Schools
  • Kari Uzzle – YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties
  • Jean Zimmerman – Offutt Family Foundation

The program has been spotlighting women leaders in the Fargo-Moorhead area since 1973. Nominations are accepted in 13 categories each year.